NMAG NewsNMAG Announces New Board Members, 2015-2017

October 15, 2015 – 

NMAG announces two new board members for the 2015-2017 term.


Annmarie McLaughlin

Annmarie is Director of Community Programs at the Santa Fe Community Foundation, where she designs and develops all community programming for the Foundation’s Philanthropy HUB. The HUB supports nonprofit capacity building through an annual series of technical assistance workshops addressing fundraising and planned giving, board development, marketing/communications, and organizational management. In 2015, the HUB will produce over 30 nonprofit professional development programs. Annmarie serves as liaison to the Professional Advisor community and produces a series for this constituency focused on effective philanthropy, from tax changes and complex gifts to working with families, legacy issues, and philanthropic vehicles. She is a member of the Santa Fe Estate Planning Council and the 2015-16 Leadership Santa Fe cohort. Annmarie holds a BFA from New York University’s Tisch School of the Arts and worked in commercial and public film and television production in Manhattan before moving to New Mexico in 1993. She has a son at Santa Fe High School and a son at the University of New Mexico. Annmarie has been with SFCF since 2005.


Ann Maddox Utterback

Ann  is a former litigation attorney who has been involved with nonprofits for over 20 years on both the grantor and grantee side. She is in her 17th year as a board member of the J. F Maddox Foundation in Hobbs, which focuses on improving the quality of life in southeastern New Mexico. She has served on numerous nonprofit boards, including United Way of Central New Mexico’s Women in Philanthropy Council, Association of Fundraising Professionals (New Mexico Chapter), Albuquerque Academy Parents’ Association, Animal Humane New Mexico, Hollins University Alumnae Board, the New Mexico Biopark Society, and the State Bar of New Mexico Board of Bar Commissioners and was chair of the State Bar’s Young Lawyers Division from 1998 to 1999. From 2011 until 2015, she was the Vice President of Development at WESST, a statewide nonprofit specializing in small business development. In 2013, she chaired the Montezuma Ball, one of the largest fundraising events in New Mexico. Ann is also a graduate of the core program of Leadership New Mexico, Class of 2013. She received her J.D. from Wake Forest University School of Law and her B.A. in French with honors from Hollins College. Ann has been a member of this year’s NMAG program planning committee. Originally from Hobbs, she lives with her husband and two teenage daughters in Albuquerque.

Continuing as board members are:

Laurie Betlach, Lannan Foundation

Ron Eppes, Intel Corporation

Tony Fox, Los Alamos National Lab Foundation

Denise Gonzales, Con Alma Health Foundation

Adam Rubel, Kindle Project & Hai Fund

Gilbert Sanchez, Laguna Community Foundation

Steve H. Simon, Simon Charitable Foundation and Executive Director of the Street Food Institute

Donna Vogel, Chamiza Foundation Ron Eppes, Intel Corporation

Outgoing Board Members: A very special thanks to our outgoing board members Robert Mang, Jessica’s Love Foundation, and Nan Schwanfelder, Brindle Foundation, for their commitment and support to the organization over the past two-year term. Also to Luan Wagner Burn, Community Foundation of Southern New Mexico who retired this year and generously served in 2015.